Morgan’s Wonderland

Posted on June 1, 2011

2




When I was younger, I loved theme parks. The thrill of the rides and especially the merry-go-round! It was my favourite as a child. When I grew up, I was in love with the fast, loopy, crazy rides that occupy our theme parks today. And I’m pretty sure, im not the only one. Most of us, have memories like that, but there are some of us, who are not privileged enough to enjoy days out like these.

An estimated 6.92 billion people occupy our planet, and out of those people, 10% are disabled. Thats almost 700 Million people in the world who suffer cognitive and physical difficulties. It’s a shocking number to know, but what exactly does that have to do with my post today? I’ll tell you.

As you know, I like to bring awareness to things I feel are important. So when I came across a website for a theme park. I just had to write about it. Morgan’s Wonderland is a unique theme park open to every individual to come across it. Located in San Antonio, Texas, it is the World’s First Ultra Accessible Family Fun Park designed specifically for children and adults with special needs, their family members, caregivers, friends and the entire community.

Owner Gordan Hartman started work on Morgan’s Wonderland in 2006. Inspired by his daughter Morgan who herself is a child with special needs. He wanted a place where his daughter, and others in her position could enjoy themselves as much as any other child her age. Thus he created Morgan’s Wonderland.

Like every theme park, Morgan’s Wonderland is full of rides and stalls, but with a difference! When it officially opened in 2010, the theme park had rides that were adjusted to accomodate wheelchairs, crutches, anything else possible. This one of a kind theme park allows families to go out together without anyone having to miss out on the fun.

When I contacted Morgan’s Wonderland to get permission for this blog, I was informed that the most important information they wanted me to share with you was that Morgan’s Wonderland was for EVERYBODY. It is a place where no one is refused entry and everyone could take part in the group activities, including sport and recreational insentives.

Surviving through fundraising and entry fees, Morgan’s Wonderland has up to 100,000 volunteer hours worked every year. as well as paid staff. Visitors from across the globe make trips to the theme park in order to have a good time and support the message the Hartman’s are trying to make.

They currently have a major fundraising event planned for the 11th of June. a 5k run to help raise funds for the theme park, as well as a few other small time events. To visit their website and see full details on what Morgan’s Wonderland is like and why they started, Click Here.

