Petition: Tony the Tiger

Posted on May 3, 2011

1



Tony the Truck Stop Tiger

This is an interesting topic I am about to write about that has me torn in two peices.  I cannot decide which path is right as after extensive research into this particular story, I still want two different things. After my trip from Crete, I came back to many new twitter posts referring to Tony the Tiger. Now first this I thought was “gggggrrrrrrreat!” Those of you who dont know, this is the catchphrase of our beloved animated Tony the Tiger. Face of Kellogs. But, then I realised this was no animated creature people were talking about.

Tony the Tiger is a hand reared feline who was born and raised in Louisiana since 2003. He lives at a Truck Stop, being its pride and joy and main customer attraction. However, source have revealed that Tony’s enclosure is far from adequate. He has no basic layout such as logs, trees, or complex vegetation that would allow him to engage in natural tiger behaviors. He has no pool of water large enough to allow him to submerge himself to cool off in the blazing heat of the summer.

However, on the other hand, Michael Sandin, Tony’s owner has raised Tony since he was just a cub. Tony has never been a wild animal and has never known the live of a wild Tiger. Tony is surrounded by humans who love and care for him.

The arguement is difficult BECAUSE Tony is obviously a hand reared Tiger, putting him in the wild would most likely kill him and that is not something I would like to see. The Animal Activists are correct in trying to free Tony, but sometimes, trying to free a captive animal could be more dangerous. Both arguements are fair. But in the interest of Tony, I am torn.

If I were to sign any petition, I would consider one that would result in the improvement of Tony’s enclosure before anything else. Tony hasn’t been in contact with any other tiger. He would need rehabilitating before anyone could even consider letting him out to the wild.

Sign here to keep Tony at home

Sign here to Free Tony the Tiger

