Hi Ho Hi Ho Of to Crete I go

Posted on April 16, 2011

0



Stalis Beach

So this week, if you have been reading my tweets, you will know that I am off on holiday to Crete tomorrow. (Insert high pitch squeal of excitement here). This holiday was booked all the way back in January and I will be spending the whole week with my two sisters in the beautiful Stalis Resort. So I thought it would be interesting to post a few small facts about the small island that I am going to be visting.

    • In the past, Crete served as the centre of the Minoan civilization (c 2600 -1400 BC), the oldest form of Greek, and hence European, civilization.
    • Speaking in mythological terms, Crete is believed to be the place where Zeus grew up.
    • Crete became a Roman province in 67 BC and the occupation continued for the next 400 years.
    • Arabs, Venetians and Turks are amongst those who ruled over the island of Crete.
    • Cretan olive oil is one of the best in Greece.

So thats a few interesting things that even I did not know about Crete. I cant wait to get there and explore all the natural beauty the island has to offer. With our world changing, and our planet evolving, who knows if we will be able to see the natural beauty we have today, in the future.

So, As this is my last post of the weekend, I will try and post while im on holiday, keeping you up to date with everything I see. If any of you are living in Crete, Let me know where I should be going and what I should be seeing!

So in true Greek spirit. I bid you farewell with αντίο

